

Information Technology Advisory Council (ITAC) December 8, 2022 – 1 p.m.



The Boulders, Mary Jackson Conference Room

Call to Order and Welcome

The Information Technology Advisory Council meeting was called to order at 1:02 p.m. Mr. Bob Osmond, CIO of the Commonwealth welcomed all the members.

Administering/coordinating (in the absence of a Chair and Vice-Chair):

Joshua Heslinga, Director, Legal and Legislative Services, Virginia IT Agency.

Members Present:

Bob Osmond, CIO of the Commonwealth Cherif Kane

Lyn McDermid, Secretary of James S. Kraemer

Administration

John A. Craft

Constantina Kozanas

Adam S. Lee

Goutam Gandhi

Dr. Timothy M. Tillman Anthony T. Gitalado

Virtual Members:

George "Bryan" Slater, Secretary of Senator Jennifer B. Boysko of

Labor Northwestern Fairfax

Senator Bill DeSteph of Virginia Beach Senator John J. Bell of Loudoun

Members Not Present:

Phea Ram Robert I. Turner

Staff Present:

Leslie Allen, Senior Assistant Attorney, Stephanie Benson, External

Office of the Attorney General Communication & Outreach Manager,

Virginia IT Agency

Mylam Ly, Legal Compliance & Policy Specialist, Virginia IT Agency

Mike Watson, Chief Information Security Officer, Virginia IT Agency

Review of Agenda

Ms. Ly provided an overview of the agenda and corresponding items in the digital meeting packets.

ITAC Legislation Overview

Mr. Heslinga provided an overview of the ITAC Legislation reviewing new legislation, composition of members and its role as an advisory body.

Overview of Roberts Rules of Order

Ms. Ly provided an overview of Roberts Rules of Order.

Electronic Participation Policy

Ms. Ly provided an overview of the Electronic Participation Policy. Upon a motion by Mr. Gandhi and duly seconded by Mr. Craft, the committee unanimously voted to adopt the Electronic Participation Policy.

Welcome Electronic Members

Upon adoption of the Electronic Participation Policy, ITAC welcomed its virtual members.

Charter and Bylaws

Mr. Heslinga provided an overview of the Charter and Bylaws. Upon a motion by Mr. Kraemer and duly seconded by Mr. Lee, the committee unanimously voted to adopt the Charter and Bylaws.

Nominations and Voting for Chair and Vice-Chair

Mr. Heslinga reviewed eligibility for Chair. The Secretary and CIO cannot be Chair of the council. The floor was opened for self-nominations. Mr. Craft and Dr. Tillman self-nominated for the position of chair. Mr. Gandhi and Ms. Kozanas self-nominated for the position of Vice-Chair. The nominees for Chair provided brief overviews of their background. By a show of hands Mr. Craft received nine (9) votes, a majority of the votes for Chair. Mr. Gandhi and Ms. Kozanas provided a short speech on their

background. By a show of hands Ms. Kozanas received ten (10) votes, a majority of votes for Vice-Chair.

Break

Cybersecurity in the Commonwealth

Mr. Watson presented on Cybersecurity in the Commonwealth which covered the scope of VITA cybersecurity responsibilities, threat landscape, cybersecurity priorities, incident reporting and the state and local cybersecurity grant program. There were discussions on VITA's role with local government, MS-ISAC, cybersecurity insurance coverage and work being done to help teachers access student data.

Information Technology Modernization

Secretary McDermid and Mr. Osmond presented on IT Modernization which covered the executive branch scope of service, Commonwealth strategic initiatives, Commonwealth IT Investment Management, assessments, and initiatives.

Public Comment Period

There were no public comments.

2023 Meeting Dates

Proposed 2023 meeting dates were presented to the members. Three meetings are planned, in May, September, and December. Members will be polled to confirm the May meeting date.

Other Business

Mr. Heslinga reminded the council to copy the ITAC email (<u>itac@vita.virginia.gov</u>) when corresponding related to ITAC business and invited feedback for the next meeting. Ms. Ly covered travel forms for the council members. There was a discussion on how the council could best support the administration.

Adjourn

Upon a motion by Mr. Craft and duly seconded by Mr. Kraemer, the meeting was adjourned at 2:58 p.m.